Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

BR Banner - A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.png

Synopsis

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas - Coverarrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

My Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a mash-up of a famous classic fairytale and a Faerie lore sprinkled with a thrilling action and a complicated sexy romance.

“My priority would be to protect my family — and I would have picked whatever side could keep them safest. I hadn’t thought of it as a weakness until now.”

― Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

This is a novel that tells the story of Feyre, a human who killed a wolf – turns to be a Faerie – and as a punishment for murdering him, she was dragged into the world she never thought she’ll step on. Planning an escape and doing it wasn’t easy especially when she always bumped Tamlin – the High Fae who brings her in Prythian – along the way. Staying longer, she will soon find out the secrets that bound to destroy the world of Prythian and she must do something to stop it.

“Because your human joy fascinates me—the way you experience things, in your life span, so wildly and deeply and all at once, is … entrancing. I’m drawn to it, even when I know I shouldn’t be, even when I try not to be.”

― Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

This is the first novel I’ve read written by Sarah J. Maas. A lot of my book friends recommend reading this and I somehow trust them since we have the same genre preferences. This one is a retelling of the fairytale that we know – Beauty and the Beast. So, let’s me start with the good sides.

“You look . . . better than before.”

Was that a compliment? I could have sworn Lucien gave Tamlin an encouraging nod.

“And you hair is . . . clean.”

― Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

The plot is very unique. I don’t know how Maas came up with this kind of story. Honestly, the whole concept is so intriguing since it was based on Beauty and the Beast and it actually surpasses my expectation.

The characters are very well distinguishable from each other. They all have their own unique characteristics which you will love.

“I was as unburdened as a piece of dandelion fluff, and he was the wind that stirred me about the world.” ― Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

I can see some similarities between Feyre and Katniss of The Hunger Games. When I started reading the book, Katniss name was the first to register on my mind, maybe because of the arrows and bow. Feyre loved her family even if they seemed not to care for her. She is willing to sacrifice as long as her family will be safe and will live peacefully.

“I love you,’ he whispered, and kissed my brow. ‘Thorns and all.” ― Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

Tamlin is like your typical guy – cold but sweet. Well, I just don’t like him so I couldn’t say much about him.

“Do you ever stop being so serious and dull?”

“Do you ever stop being such a prick?” I snapped back.

Dead—really, truly, I should have been dead for that.

But Lucien grinned at me. “Much better.”

― Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

Lucien is one of my favorite characters. I wanted to have a guy friend like him. He is so loyal to Tamlin to the point that he is willing to die for him.

“Rhysand stared at me for long enough that I faced him.

“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

― Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

Rhys and is the most mysterious guy in this book. You don’t know if he is an enemy or not. The way he is described just makes me want to meet him in person.

“I love you,” I said, and stabbed him.” ― Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

The almost ending part is the best scene for me. Here, you will surely grip the book as you anticipate what will happen next.

What I disliked on this novel?

The narration. Why? It is too slow and I hate it when it was narrated with a slow pace. It just makes me bored and it makes me lose interest even if the story is good. I had a hard time finishing this one because I always felt sleepy when I read this. Sorry about it!

The romantic relationship of Feyre and Tamlin. I don’t know why but the romance between them didn’t make me ship them. If I will choose a guy for Feyre, it’ll be Rhysand.

The writing of Sarah J. Maas is so wonderful. It is eloquent and powerful. She also was able to make an intricate and an unusual fantasy world. This is recommended for all fantasy lovers but if you hate reading a book with slow narration, maybe this is not for you.

My Rating

Arrow Arrow Arrow Arrow

Book Details

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Publication Date: May 5th, 2015

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, #01

Genre(s): Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

Page Count: 416

Language: English

Add on Goodreads: CLICK HERE

Purchase Here

Amazon

About the Author

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and the USA Today bestselling author of the Throne Sarah J. Maas.jpgof Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

Website |  GoodreadsFacebook | Twitter | Instagram

Tumblr  | Pinterest

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger/reviewer, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She's also a book blogger and she posts her reviews and other bookish posts on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, My Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

