Book Review: Unvamped by Elizabeth Stevens

Unvamped by Elizabeth Stevens

Synopsis - Divider

Ellie Cooper comes from a long line of witches but wishes she could be normal. When she 25743251.jpgnearly kills herself cursing a vampire, her dislike of her heritage deepens. She must find a way to accept her magic or forsake her family.

After feeding on a witch, 693-year-old vampire Charles Dumphrey wakes to find he is living a human teenage life, complete with parents, school and girls. He must adjust to his new life as a human and find a way to break the curse Ellie put on him.

Lee is a werewolf who is not yet shifting regularly. He worries about who he will be when he regulates. Lee searches for the balance between his humanity and the wolf before the wolf takes over.

All three have to overcome their uncertainties and accept themselves in order to save Ellie’s life.

My Review - Divider

This is the first book that I’ve signed-up for the R2R program in one of my Goodreads group. The cover and synopsis caught my attention because I loved vampire novels. But! I never thought this would disappoint me.

The story revolves around three characters – a vampire, a werewolf and a witch. It all started when Charles drank the blood of a young witch named Ellie who in returns, cursed him. Waking up the other day, Charles found himself changed back as a human again. Now, he must find a way to break the curse.

This book was told from 3 different POV’s. Instead of making the story much well better because three of the main characters will told the story, it only makes it worst. The reason is that the scenes I’ve read in Charlie’s POV were just the same with the other two characters. Meaning, it was being repetitive.

The characters are not also well-written. I had a hard time connecting and understanding them. Even if the friendship starting to build between the three of them is kind of interesting, I am having a hard time connecting with them.

Overall, I don’t like this book. This is definitely not for me. I believed that this book has a lot of potential since the synopsis is interesting enough for me so if it’ll be rewritten, I might give this a shot again.

Disclaimer: I received a review copy from the author via YA Buddy Reader’s Corner.

My Rating - Divider

Arrow Arrow

Book Details - Divider

ASIN: B00YFY3L8K

Publisher: Caliburn Press

Publication Date: May 27th 2015

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Format: Kindle Edition

Language: English

Pages: 276

Add in Goodreads: graphics-click-here-230392

About the Author - Divider

I live in Adelaide with my husband and a menagerie of animals – an odd cat, a yoga-loving 14058028.jpgturtle, a not-actually-that-small ‘lap-dog’ Beagle-Cavalier, six meeping guinea pigs, and four escape-artist chickens.

I have received a Master of Arts (Writing) from Swinburne University of Technology and hope to one day undertake a PhD in Creative Writing.

I also organise the Sleeping Dragon Emerging Fantasy Writers’ Collective writing group at the South Australian Writers’ Centre. The group self-published their anthology ‘Tales from the Sleeping Dragon’ in 2012.

WEBSITE 💜 GOODREADS 💜 TWITTER 💜 FACEBOOK 💜 PINTEREST

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She is a also a book blogger and she post her reviews and other bookish post on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, My Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Unvamped by Elizabeth Stevens

  1. Pingback: July Monthly Wrap-Up | Book Huntress' World

Leave a Reply

