Book Review: The Daemoniac by Kat Ross +Giveaway #BlogTour

The Daemoniac by Kat Ross - Banner

Synopsis - Divider

It’s August of 1888, just three weeks before Jack the Ripper will begin his grisly spree in The Daemoniac by Kat Ross - Coverthe London slum of Whitechapel, and another serial murderer is stalking the gas-lit streets of New York. With taunting messages in backwards Latin left at the crime scenes and even more inexplicable clues like the fingerprints that appear to have been burned into one victim’s throat, his handiwork bears all the hallmarks of a demonic possession.

But consulting detective Harrison Fearing Pell is convinced her quarry is a man of flesh and blood. Encouraged by her uncle, Arthur Conan Doyle, Harry hopes to make her reputation by solving the bizarre case before the man the press has dubbed Mr. Hyde strikes again.

From the squalor of the Five Points to the high-class gambling dens of the Tenderloin and the glittering mansions of Fifth Avenue, Harry and her best friend, John Weston, follow the trail of a remorseless killer, uncovering a few embarrassing secrets of New York’s richest High Society families along the way. Are the murders a case of black magic—or simple blackmail? And will the trail lead them closer to home than they ever imagined?

My Review - Divider

PERFECT! This novel is one of my best books of this year!

I’m lost for words that I can use to describe how good this book is. I’m very amazed by the author’s way of writing a very fantastic story that will really make me love it. I might not like mystery that much but this one really hooked me to the point that I’m getting eager to lay my hands on the next installment of the series.

The mystery that surrounds the place and how the author connected it to the infamous Jack the Ripper of London around 1800s will make you gripped the book as you discover who or what lies behind the killings.

I already have an idea of who might be the killer here but I can’t see any way of pointing him/her as the suspect because the author is really good of not giving away that much to destroy the flow of the story.

I can also relate to the character Harry – short for Harrison. I might not have a big sister like her but I feel like living in the shadow of the child of my mom’s friends. I am also hoping that the author will make a story about Myrtle, Harry’s older sister. I found her very interesting!

I’ve finished reading this around 6 am in the morning because I can’t sleep while thinking what will happen on the next page. That’s how I’m into the story. So, if you are looking for a mind-crackling book, then this is much recommended for you to read. If you’ve read this already, do we have the same opinion for this novel?

Disclaimer: I received a reader copy from the author via Xpresso Book Tours.

My Rating - Divider

Arrow Arrow Arrow Arrow Arrow

Book Details - Divider

ISBN-13: 9780997236248

Publisher: Acorn

Publication Date: October 12th 2016

Series: A Dominion Mystery, #01

Genres: Historical, Mystery, Young Adult

Format: Paperback

Language: English

Pages: 334

Add in Goodreads: graphics-click-here-230392

Purchase Here - Divider

AMAZON 💜 BARNES & NOBLE 💜 IBOOKS 💜 KOBO

About the Author - Divider

Kat Ross worked as a journalist at the United Nations for ten years before happily OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAfalling back into what she likes best: making stuff up. She lives in Westchester with her kid and a few sleepy cats. Kat is also the author of the dystopian thriller Some Fine Day (Skyscape, 2014), about a world where the sea levels have risen sixty meters. She loves magic, monsters and doomsday scenarios. Preferably with mutants.

WEBSITE 💜 FACEBOOK 💜 TWITTER 💜 GOODREADS

Giveaway - Divider

checkit_e0

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She is a also a book blogger and she post her reviews and other bookish post on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Blog Tours, Book Reviews, Giveaways, My Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: The Daemoniac by Kat Ross +Giveaway #BlogTour

  1. Subiksha says:

    I really like your blog!!!:D I’ve been reading good reviews for this book…will definitely check it out:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been seeing this book all over the place lately, and people are loving it! I already bought it and can’t wait to start reading^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

