Author Interview with Jason Hershey

oie_apkf0iegbd3n

Hello everyone! I have been not active again for a week as I have some issues with internet thing. But, it’s ok now and I have something for you guys!

Today, I have a special guest and he is the author of the book, To Die To Live. I found his book to be personal and simply inspiring even if I haven’t read it yet. Based on the description of the book, I know that I and even you will relate to it. Now, I am interviewing him to know more what his book is all about and of course to know something about him as the author of it too.

Let’s start now!

Aly: Hello Mr. Jason! I’m Alyssa from Book Huntress’ World and I’m glad to welcome you here on my blog.Β I hope you are fine!

(1) First of all, I want you to share something we don’t know about you, like are you a fan of some certain people or what do you do aside from writing?

I am a teacher at the moment. I have taught everything from Pre-Kindergarten to high school.

(2) From your author’s bio, it says there that you are a teacher. How does being a teacher helps you in writing this book?

I consider myself a storyteller, so in that sense I am always making up stories and telling them to my students. You have to be able to come up with an interesting story that holds their attention since children nowadays have short attention spans. You have to get them from the beginning and not let go.

(3) Is there any person/things/event that you find as your *main* inspiration while writing the story?

A lot of my stories are based off of personal experiences, as well as those of friends and family. It’s much easier and authentic to write about those things that you know well, that are a part of you. I think readers are smart enough to be able to pick up on the things that are fake.

(4) What is your favorite part of the book? Why?

I love the relationship between Theo and Draven. I think it allowed them both to grow and to see that, even though they were from different families and backgrounds, they were very similar. I also think they allowed each other to be true to themselves. That was important for their growth as characters and, eventually, as Theo grows older in the future books.

(5) While writing this book, what are the problems you encountered?

Just finding enough time to write and dedicate myself to the craft. It’s hard to balance life, writing and family. All are important and need to be given the proper attention. I’m not the greatest at time management, so that was definitely a struggle.

(6) What has your experience been like as a new Indie Author? Bruises, Highlights, and lessons?

I absolutely love it. I love the fact that if this book is successful or not, whether it’s marketed well or not, whether people like it or not, is all dependent on me. That makes me work harder to get it out there and to make sure that it was something I was proud of and ready for people to see.

(7) Do you view writing as a kind of spiritual practice?

It was very soul cleansing. I found myself getting upset at some of the dialogue, either as it brought back memories for me, or as I put myself in the characters shoes and tried to live what they were going through.

(8) Are you working on another book?

I am. I’m working on a children’s picture book as well as a sequel of sorts to this book. It will follow Theo’s ongoing adventures into young adulthood and life.

(9) I have a simple yet good question that I like to ask from some authors, what’s your favorite under-appreciated novel?

I don’t know if it’s under-appreciated. It’s won awards and it’s famous, but I don’t think a lot of people have read it. Count The Stars by Lois Lowry is absolutely awesome and heart wrenching.

(10) Lastly, tell us a little about your plans for the future. Where do you see yourself as a writer in five years?

I would love to still be writing books that touch people at an emotional level and growing with my characters.

That’s all! If you have any message for the readers, go ahead! Greet and say something to them. πŸ™‚

Thank you for this opportunity. I hope you all go out and read my book. I think there is something in it for everyone. I think everyone will see a little of themselves in the experiences and growth of Theo and Draven.

Thank you again Mr. Jason on visiting my blog and having a short yet wonderful interview. I hope to see you again here in the future! πŸ™‚

And for my followers and to those who are reading this, thank you for spending your little time on reading this. Before we end this, you can see the book details and purchase link to Mr. Jason’s book, To Die To Live, below.

Again, thank you everyone! Have an amazing day!


41radipdjfl-_sx311_bo1204203200_

Synopsis

Thelonious “Theo” Mitchell is a down on his luck teenager, wandering aimlessly through life with no desire or focus. When tragedy strikes, he is taken in by his aunt and uncle. Thrown into a new school with unfamiliar surroundings, he befriends the class “troublemaker”. After yet another tragedy, will Theo fall victim to life, or use the tragedy as a spark and motivation to embrace all that life has to offer?

Add in Goodreads:Β graphics-click-here-230392

Purchase Here

checkit_e0

About the Author

I am originally from Phoenix, Arizona, but currently reside in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio with 91x0zx9wGwL._UX250_.jpgmy wonderful family. I am a graduate of Bethel College in North Newton, Kansas with a BS in Elementary Education. I have always been a writer, but gave it up to work on my teaching career. This is my first book, but I have many more projects waiting in the wings to see the light of day.

AMAZON πŸ’œ FACEBOOK

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She is a also a book blogger and she post her reviews and other bookish post on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Interviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Author Interview with Jason Hershey

  1. carhicks says:

    The author’s responses and the synopsis of this book have tweaked my interest. I will have to check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

