Thursday Talks: Signs That You Are Not Enjoying Reading a Book

thursday-talks-2

Reading a book you are not enjoying is a torture not to be undertaken without a reward. I leave plays at the interval, too! – Mariella Frostrup

Hello everyone! I hope you are all well! πŸ™‚

Today, I’ll talk about signs that you are not enjoying whatever book you are reading right now. Though some of it might not be the real case but all of it always happened to me when I’m getting bored on my current read. Together with my best friend, Bea, we finalized this list and I’m thankful for her help on correcting or adding some of it.

So, here they are!

(1)Β Read and Forget

download.png

You finished reading half of the book but you can’t fully remember what the heck just happened on those previous chapters.

Well, this happened to me with those books I’ve read and I don’t intend on writing a review for as I don’t knowΒ what to say to it. If I really need to write one, I need to re-read it soon so it will only refreshed my mind on things I’ve forgotten about the story.

(2) Feeling Plain

You do not feel any excitement while reading each words. In short, you are just reading it and whatever you read there don’t even affect you.

(3) Falling Eyelids

sleepu

You are feeling sleepy.

Well, it can also be because the author’s way of writingΒ really sounds sleepy but the story is still great. It just that, most of the time, I’m feeling sleepy when list 1 and 2 strikes.

(4) Day Dreaming

download (1).jpg

Your mind keeps wandering out of the story you are reading.

Hehe! This only applies when you really don’t understand what you are reading to the point it’s better to day dream than to read that book.

(5) Imagination World is Closed

download (2).jpg

You can’t imagine the story and how it flows.

No matter how hard you try to re-read those sentences, you really can’t grasp what it wants you to see or to imagine.

(6) Out-of-Focus

download (3).jpg

You are easily distracted by some things like musics, movies or shows on the TV, social medias, FOODS (Sorry, food really distracts me!), etc.

And those are the signs that you are not enjoying reading a book. Do you agree with it? Do you have anything to add to that list? If you do have some, feel free to comment it here! πŸ™‚

Thanks everyone!

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She is a also a book blogger and she post her reviews and other bookish post on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Thursday Talks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Thursday Talks: Signs That You Are Not Enjoying Reading a Book

  1. The memory thing is big for me. I find lately that I can BARELY remember books a month or so after I’ve read them (I’m getting old!), but then there’s the occasional one that you can barely remember WHILE you’re reading it—yeah, that’s a bad sign. LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely agree! Usually, if I’m reading a book I’m not enjoying, I actually think “Wow, I don’t care AT ALL.” So that’s a pretty clear sign to me! I loved this post; it was so relatable!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bewitchinglyparanoid says:

    I loved the topic, very different πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

