Book Review: Never Trust a Skinny Cupcake Baker by D.E. Haggerty

Never Trust a Skinny Cupcake Baker by D.E. Haggerty

Synopsis - Divider

A cozy mystery with a heap of laughs, a generous portion of romance, and just a Never Trust a Skinny Cupcake Baker by D.E. Haggerty - Cover.jpgsmidgeon of suspense.

Callie’s life is rather awesome. She owns a successful bakery and teaches German literature at the local university. There’s just one tiny problem. She has no self confidence when it comes to her body. And then there’s the little matter of her being accused of murdering her pole dancing instructor. There’s no way Callie’s going to risk losing her teaching position and thus she embarks, with her best baker bud Anna, on a journey to discover the real killer. Between stripper auditions and a detective who insists Callie is the woman of his dreams, it’s a roller coaster adventure. Cupcakes not included.

ModernTeen's Review - Divider

My Diet Plan: Make all of my friends eat cupcakes: the fatter they get, the thinner I’ll look… – D.E. Haggerty, Never Trust a Skinny Cupcake Baker.

In the story, Callie owns a bakery named Callie’s Cakes and they sell baked goodies and cupcakes there. Her ex-boyfriend dumped her for being fat and she lost her self-confidence because of that. Even if that happened to her, she still have Detective hottie Ben beside her, who was very consistent on asking her out for a year already, and her very supportive-pink-haired-crazy-best-friend Anna, who signed her up for a pole dancing course to build her confidence. At first, Callie doesn’t really want the pole dancing class because she thought it was like a stripper class but she still attended it even though she have to endure Dolly, their pole dancing instructor who was really mean at Callie ever since the first meeting. Just when she thought things are getting better, Dolly was murdered and Callie was accused as the main suspect. Now, she needed to prove that she was not the murderer just to save her teaching job.

I’ve found this book on the list of books for review on Mystery Thriller Week event website. I chose this because the cover caught my attention – you know, sexy and at the same time a cute cover. It also involves cupcakes! I didn’t search for the synopsis of this book on Goodreads because I wanted to know the story by myself and I’m glad that it didn’t disappoint me. Since the start of the story, I was completely hooked already. The very first scene where Anna bursts into the kitchen telling Callie’s hot admirer was there, I already know that I would enjoy reading this.

The story have romance, mystery and some hilarious moments too – just like what a reader like me was looking for. I liked how everything seemed to be natural here. The characters act like what a real human would do and feel and they appeared to be real to me. The scenes were very easy to imagine too and I could say that this book was a well-written one. I like how the author wrote a detailed scenes.

When the mystery part began, it was when they start finding evidences on how they will prove that Callie was not the murderer. I thought it would become more serious and boring but it didn’t. Instead, the mystery part just added more excitement to the story and how they solve the mystery piece-by-piece was just amazing. I felt like I’m one of the characters.  I could say that this book was a page turner for me.

I love Ben and Callie’s moments. I really shipped these two since the beginning because Ben loves Callie so much no matter what her size is. I somehow can relate to Callie, because I’m a bit chubby and I also lack self-confidence but this empower girls like me to feel great about our own body.

I also like how there was a short funny quotes in the start of every chapters. It was like an energizer so there was no dull moment at all. And trust me people, this book is really great. When I reached the end of this book, I nearly cried because I didn’t want it to end but I’ll surely read the other books in this series and I’ll review them too!

I recommend this to all the bookworms out there! If you’re looking for a RomCom with lots of mystery, then this is the book for you. To those who are tired with teen dramas and would like to try reading some adult book that doesn’t have too much steamy scene, you should try this one. And if you’re looking for a real fun-to-read mystery book that’ll keep you guessing who is the killer, you really should try this!

Disclaimer: I received a reader copy of this book from the author via Mystery Thriller Week event.

ModernTeen's Rating - Divider

Arrow Arrow Arrow Arrow Arrow

Book Details - Divider

ISBN-13: 978-1530753222

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Publication Date: April 12th 2016

Genres: Cozy Mystery

Series: Death by Cupcake, #01

Format: Paperback

Language: English

Pages: 134

Add in Goodreads: graphics-click-here-230392

About the Author - Divider

I grew up reading everything I could get my hands on from my mom’s Harlequin romances D.E. Haggertyto Nancy Drew to Little Women. When I wasn’t flipping pages in a library book, I was penning horrendous poems, writing songs no one should ever sing, or drafting stories which have thankfully been destroyed. College and a stint in the U.S. Army came along, robbing me of free time to write and read, although I did manage, every once in a while, to sneak a book into my rucksack between rolled up socks, MRIs, t-shirts, and cold weather gear. After surviving the army experience, I went back to school and got my law degree. I jumped ship and joined the hubby in the Netherlands before the graduation ceremony could even begin. A few years into my legal career, I was exhausted, fed up, and just plain done. I quit my job and sat down to write a manuscript, which I promptly hid in the attic after returning to the law. But being a lawyer really wasn’t my thing, so I quit (again!) and went off to Germany to start a B&B. Turns out being a B&B owner wasn’t my thing either. I decided to follow the husband to Istanbul for a few years where I managed to churn out book after book. But ten years was too many to stay away from ‘home’. I packed up again and moved to The Hague where I’m currently working on my next book. I hope I’ll always be working on my next book.

WEBSITE 💜 GOODREADS 💜 FACEBOOK 💜 TWITTER

PINTEREST 💜 GOOGLE PLUS

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger/reviewer, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She's also a book blogger and she posts her reviews and other bookish posts on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contributors' Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Book Review: Never Trust a Skinny Cupcake Baker by D.E. Haggerty

  1. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I’m excited you liked it 🙂 BTW: I love the blog layout. May have to steal some ideas…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carhicks says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Loved this one too! Anna was the constant scene-stealer! 😄👍

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

