Book Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Synopsis - Divider

The beast raged; it punctured the air with its spite. But the girl was fiercer.

Tea is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy makes her The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco - Cover.jpga bone witch, who are feared and ostracized in the kingdom. For theirs is a powerful, elemental magic that can reach beyond the boundaries of the living—and of the human.

Great power comes at a price, forcing Tea to leave her homeland to train under the guidance of an older, wiser bone witch. There, Tea puts all of her energy into becoming an asha, learning to control her elemental magic and those beasts who will submit by no other force. And Tea must be strong—stronger than she even believes possible. Because war is brewing in the eight kingdoms, war that will threaten the sovereignty of her homeland…and threaten the very survival of those she loves.

My Review - Divider

A book that crept into my heart and left a wonderful memory on it.

This book tells us the story of Tea, a girl who was born as a dark asha or also known as the bone witch. Being a bone witch was not easy as people feared and hate them. On this book, we’ll see how she will overcome the obstacles blocking her way and how she will be able to surpass them.

The book was also written into two views. One from Tea herself from her own experience in the past and the other was from a guy named Bard who talks and hears Tea’s story from the present.

I like how the author written it that way. It gives curiosity on the reader’s part – mine to be exact. It made me think what was happening and why Tea was talking like that to Bard. What happened when she was an asha and why she wasn’t one anymore? Every chapter gave me different questions that I’d like to know the answers to but every time some of it were answered, more questions would arise. It made me keep on guessing what might happen next.

The way it was narrated was slow and I hate reading slow narrated story because they made me sleepy but this book was an exception because I just liked it. The world-building was very different from the other fantasy books I’ve read. The plot was also good and also the characters. I just like to know if they would be able to find Lady Mykaela’s lost heartsglass in the future or not. I am also interested on learning more about Kalen and Kance.

Tea was very admirable. I like how she stays strong despite the hard tasks put on her shoulders. She might be stubborn but there was always a reason for being like that. Her relationship with her brother, Fox, was also one of the things I liked on this book.

The ending left some unanswered questions to me and I hope I’ll be able to read them on the next book.

I am recommending this book for fantasy lovers. If you don’t like slow narration, then I suggest you to decide on your own if you’ll read this book BUT I am really telling you that you should read this. The story was very unique especially the way it was written.

Disclaimer: I received an advance reader copy from Sourcebooks Fire via NetGalley.

My Rating - Divider

Arrow Arrow Arrow Arrow

Book Details - Divider

ISBN-13: 9781492635826

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Publication Date: March 7th 2017

Series: The Bone Witch, #01

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Format: Hardcover

Language: English

Pages: 400

Add in Goodreads: graphics-click-here-230392

Purchase Here - Divider

AMAZON

About the Author - Divider

Despite an unsettling resemblance to Japanese revenants, Rin always maintains her sense Rin Chupecoof hummus. Born and raised in Manila, Philippines, she keeps four pets: a dog, two birds, and a husband.

She is represented by Rebecca Podos of the Helen Rees Agency.

Sign up at her newsletter to receive updates on new books, author events, and giveaways!

WEBSITE 💜 GOODREADS 💜 TWITTER 💜 AMAZON 💜 PINTEREST

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She is a also a book blogger and she post her reviews and other bookish post on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, My Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

  1. Zoya says:

    Ah this book is meant to be so good + I don’t mind slow fantasy. Might try it out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jasmine says:

    That’s good that you can read this book. I tried but couldn’t get through.. I need some happenings in my book to grab my attention. I do believe when people say not every book is for everyone haha..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I’m hooked by the story though it’s really hard to get into it at first because it didn’t tell who was talking there, if it’s on the past or at present. I think I’ve been reading this for one whole week together with some books too haha! 😀 I just hope the next book of this will be better. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

