Book Review: The Things They’ve Taken by Katie McElhenney

The Things They've Taken by Katie McElhenney - Banner

Synopsis - Divider

All Lo Campbell wants is to be a normal teenager—to go to one high school, live in one The Things They've Taken by Katie McElhenney - Coverplace, and have one real friend. Instead, she travels the country with her mother, chasing the unknown, the what else that’s out there…

Until one day, the what else chases back.

Determined to rescue her mom from whatever supernatural being took her, Lo will need more help than a badly dressed demon obsessed with country music. She’s going to need a Tracker—and lucky for her, she finds one. Shaw is strong, good-looking, possibly available, and utterly infuriating. Sure, he may have secrets, and his help costs more than a brand-new car, but she’ll have to deal with him if she wants to find her mother—and get her home alive.

My Review - Divider

The main character’s mother was taken by an ancient and powerful demon. Dolores was now set on finding and saving her mom so she asked help from a demon named Rashkur. In exchange for a favor, the demon helped her and it leads her to meet Shaw, a tracker Rashkur recommended that she should hire.

I really wanted to like this story because it has the things I’m looking for a story – demons, seer, and other supernatural creatures. But, there were just things that made me off from this book.

First, it was the main character.

Dolores or also known as Lo was shown to me as a brave and tough girl but since the day she met Shaw, she became whiny and childish for me. Her character’s personality was inconsistent. It was ok if she started as strong girl then later on became weak or vice versa but here, her personality always changes and it was annoying and at the same time, confusing on my part. I almost wanted to hit her so she could set her mind on her mission of finding her mom and not to flirt with the tracker she was travelling with.

Second was the romance that I should feel between Lo and Shaw.

I don’t know if it was just me but I couldn’t feel any chemistry between Lo and Shaw. I could say that it was just Lo who has something for Shaw but Shaw liking her back? It was a no no – well, at the start. If I were Lo, I would just stop thinking about Shaw – if he also likes her or not.

Lastly was the ending.

I don’t like it when a story ends and problems were not properly resolved. Her mission was to find her mom but of all the adventure she and Shaw went on, the ending was them not finding her yet. It was a hanging ending that leaves unanswered questions on my mind.

What I like on this novel was their adventures and meetings with those supernatural creatures. This novel has a great potential to be a great read for me and it was just because of those three points above which made me gave this three arrows.

Overall, this was simply a fast read for me. I am recommending this to all paranormal lovers especially if you also like reading books with supernatural creatures.

Disclaimer: I received an Advance Reader Copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

My Rating - Divider

Arrow Arrow Arrow

Book Details - Divider

ISBN-13: 9781633759749

Publisher: Entangled Publishing

Publication Date: May 1st 2017

Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance

Format: Kindle Edition

Language: English

Pages: 278

Add in Goodreads: graphics-click-here-230392

About the Author - Divider

Katie McElhenney was born in Philadelphia into a big family of curious kids and patient Katie McElhenney - Authoradults. A voracious reader and unapologetic daydreamer, she knew she wanted to become a writer someday. With the support of an amazing family, great friends, and some truly spectacular teachers she has written short stories, poems, and novels. A solar-powered human, she now lives in Los Angeles and uses the great weather for year-round trips to the beach and long runs (where the best inspiration happens).

WEBSITE 💜 GOODREADS 💜 TWITTER

FACEBOOK 💜 INSTAGRAM

 

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger/reviewer, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She's also a book blogger and she posts her reviews and other bookish posts on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, My Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: The Things They’ve Taken by Katie McElhenney

  1. Naty says:

    Hi Alyssa! I have tagged you on my last post in a tag/meme for spreading the word on new blogs. If you want, you can check my last post and answer the tag 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful review! It seems like we’re definitely on the same page regarding Lo and Shaw. I think I gave the book a slightly higher rating because I loved the actual story and the world building. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

