Thursday Talks: Why Being a Book Reviewer is NOT Easy?

TT Banner - Why Being a Book Reviewer is NOT Easy.png

I’ve thought for a while that I should write something about this topic. I know that some people think that being a book reviewer is a relaxing thing to do. Yes, it’s cool and fun to be one but it is never easy. Every time, some of my friends would find out that I’m doing reviews on books that I’ve been reading, they always tell me that it’s cool and such but sometimes, some of them would do a side comment that it’s just easy and they can also do it but they just find it not worthy of their time. Well, I don’t really care if it’s time-wasting and if I don’t get any money from it, as long as I enjoyed reading books, it’s already a pleasure to me.

First of all, writing a book review was not a simple task. Why? It is because there were times when the book you’ve read was either great or not but the thing is, there would be a time that you couldn’t express what you wanted to say about the story. You were either out-of-words because it was really amazing and you thought whatever you would say won’t be enough to convey your feelings or it was just disappointing that you don’t want to write anything because you might put unintentional hurting words about the story or the author.

Second, as a book reviewer, I should always make sure that I include the things that I liked and disliked in the story but there would be an instance that I really loved it to the point that I, most of the time, couldn’t even put anything I disliked in the story even if it’s a very small point that might make the others hate it. I find it important to do this one because if you’ll only state why you love it or hate it, then others wouldn’t even try to read it because of you writing only one thing which includes something that they were trying to avoid when picking up a book.

Lastly, the time I give just to make a review for that book is something I am willing to spend just to be able to share my thoughts about it. I am a busy person because aside from blogging, I am also a college student, a dancer, and a Maths tutor so it’s really hard to make time reading and reviewing a book. It really takes time for me to be able to finish my review for each book. Right now, I have a lot of unfinished reviews on my hard drive but it’s hard for me to finish it due to some reasons – like I don’t know what to write about it and having a lack of time to finish them.

And, that’s my top 3 reasons why being a book reviewer is not an easy thing to do. There were still other reasons like deadlines for review of each book and such but these three are my main reasons.

For you, why do you think it’s hard to become a book reviewer? Feel free to share your thoughts or opinions about this one in the comment section.

Thank you, everyone, and always take care!

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger/reviewer, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She's also a book blogger and she posts her reviews and other bookish posts on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Thursday Talks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Thursday Talks: Why Being a Book Reviewer is NOT Easy?

  1. Elena Hawthorne says:

    I’m going to be entering my first year of college in the fall and I’m so nervous as to how I’m going to balance blogging and the rest of my life because, as you say, it actually does take up a lot of time! But good for you on managing your time so well given your activities! This was a great topic to discuss!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It took me a year to fully adjust on my life and blog schedules but of course, you’ll still find some problems along the way and with that, I’m just happy that I could still have some time to blog.

      Thanks and good luck on college! I hope you’ll enjoy your stay there. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree wholeheartedly! I don’t know about anyone else, but I feel burnt out sometimes. Reading is exercise for the brain. Like any other muscle, my brain gets tired over time. Anyone else?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – June | Book Huntress' World

  4. Pingback: The Mystery Blogger Award | Book Huntress' World

  5. I 101% agree with your top three reasons of why being a book reviewer is not an easy job. I just graduated from university and have been trying to catch up with social media as a book reviewer and I’m totally stunned by how hard it can be and how easy it is to get lost in the pile of books, reviews, posts, comments, and replies to comments that is thrilling but definitely takes A LOT of time. And reading books to review takes time itself so book reviewing can easily become a full-time, completely unpaid job! Despite all its complexities however, I am definitely one happy book babbler.
    Happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Congrats on graduating! I still have a few years left before I graduate. 😀

      It’s easy to start as a book reviewer but after some time, you’ll start to realize that you should have prepared on how busy you could be because of it. But, still, I’m also happy to become a book babbler (reviewer) no matter how hard it could get in the future. 🙂

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. puppapages says:

    Love this! I completely agree.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So very true! I think a lot of us imagined when we started out that blogging was going to be relatively easy—we had no idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I (right now ) am starting my book review and am failing to find anything actually interesting to say !!! Although I aren’t doing a proper review just doing what it is about I was just wondering if you have any tips on how to make the review sound intresting as I used to use the site blogger but got no views at all !!! Thanks

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I’m new to this too. I’m struggling with the negatives because I don’t want to sound unkind. After all it is just one opinion. However, there is no point in reviewing if you just point out the positives. Like you say, book reviewing is hard sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You are right. I would like to add one more thing. “The Spoilers”. Reviewers have to make sure they are not ruining the book for others by giving away spoilers.

    By the way, I am in love with your blog. *makes heart eyes*

    Liked by 3 people

  11. shalini says:

    I am new to this world of book reviewing on a blog, just a week old. Reviews would be a few lines on Amazon but these in depth reviews take a lot of time and structure. You do far more things than I do and yet find time to review.. Thats good… I am still learning… Great post

    Liked by 1 person

  12. And look I already made typos. 😑👆

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Being a book reviewer is definitely no easy task. As ypu said whenever I read a book regardless good or bad I keep a diary where I write about it. But then agin I have to type it in my pc and that is too tiresome. 😧

    Liked by 1 person

  14. As a writer, it’s nice to read this. Sometimes I think we forget that book reviewers are people too! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 3 people

  15. I also agree. It takes me on average about 45 minutes to put together a review. I want to make sure I’m fair to the author and my followers.😊

    Liked by 3 people

  16. Absolutely agree! It’s impossible to quit being one, though… I enjoy it too much 😝

    Liked by 1 person

  17. ezinwanyi13 says:

    I agree with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I totally agree. Its like I have to put so much time into just getting my thoughts into order and getting words and sentences out of them. Its hard. And being able to talk about both the good and the bad of a book without being rude or over doing it is not easy. It takes a certain finese.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

