Thursday Talks: How Do I Review Books?

How Do I Review Books

Lately, I’ve been asked by some new bloggers about reviewing books and they also asked for any tips or advise that I could give to them. I am not really a great reviewer like the others because sometimes there are points that I forgot to discuss on my reviews and sometimes, I think my reviews really lack something which I don’t even know what it is. But, since it wouldn’t hurt me to try helping my fellow bloggers especially the new ones, I am here trying to discuss how I do my book reviews.

After reading a book, I either write my review already or take a rest first. It really depends on how the book affects me and my mood. If I think writing it already is the best way, then I go for it but if I think no words would ever appear on my mind, I take a rest and just wait for time to let those words I needed to come. I never force myself to write book reviews if I know that my head will only hurt for trying to make one so instead, I find time to relax and I clear my mind of other things before I start writing the review.

No matter what I choose to do first, I ALWAYS write notes about whatever comes on my mind about the story. It might be a short sentence or a few words to just summarize what the story is all about. As long as it could give you something to explain, it’s fine. To give you a view on what kind of notes I’m writing, see what’s written below:

  • This book starts at action but it failed to introduce the story at the first chapter.
  • This is amazing! I just feel the adrenaline moving on my veins! The characters can really affect me!
  • The plot is super good.
  • The writing style is making me sleepy.
  • The changes on the voice helped me more in visualizing the story.

Then use those notes in making your review. Organize them first on how you want your review to be structured before expanding or explaining each one on the notes. By structure, what I mean is do you want to start your review with a short recap about what the story is all about then followed by what you think about the story, what do you like or dislike on it, and will you recommend this book or do you want it to start with how you feel about the book then followed by anything how you want it to be written? After doing that, I expand or explain each notes especially on the part as to why I like or dislike the story or some elements from it like the characters, the plot, the writing style, the voice used in the story, the world-building, etc. Actually, you can expand or explain them first before organizing them into a whole review but it’s up to you on how you’ll do it.

If you’re done, just polish and check your review for possible errors in either grammar or spellings. Also make sure that you never attack the author in case it is a negative review because you are reviewing the book not the author, okay? Another thing to remember is to avoid any spoilers or if you really want to have it on your review, please limit what you’ll say there or use a spoiler tag to cover the part where spoilers will be shown and just let the readers click it if they want to see it. One more is to never ever lie in your reviews and always make sure that you’re being HONEST on it. Never write reviews that would just make the publisher or the author happy and like you. Last one is to make your own voice and style when writing the review, it’s okay to copy the other bloggers’ way of writing the review if you’re a newbie but having your own where you can write it comfortably will be much easier and amazing for you.

There you have it! You can now write your own book reviews! For my fellow bloggers who have any tips to add when you write book reviews, feel free to comment it here so the new ones will know what to do on how to start their first book review!

Thank you for reading this! And I added a guide below and you might want to use it when you make notes or you need more things to add in your review but never depend on this guide forever. Try to change how you write your review and remember too that no matter how you write it, as long as it can show how you like or dislike the book that would be great already.

📎 A Simple Guide for Book Reviewing 📎

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She is a also a book blogger and she post her reviews and other bookish post on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Thursday Talks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thursday Talks: How Do I Review Books?

  1. I wish I was organized about my reviewing style. I’m terrible about taking notes while I read, and I know I would be much better off if I did!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not that organized yet with my reviewing style (just getting there I think) 😁 Well, taking notes is not applicable for some readers but whenever I feel happy, sad, angry, or frustrated on the story/characters, those notes helps on calming me or else I might end up daydreaming or dnf-ing the book. 😆

      Like

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – June | Book Huntress' World

  3. This is such a great post. I love the topic ❤
    Megan @ http://wanderingsofabookbird.blogspot.co.uk/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree withe everything you’ve said! Our review process seems to be similar 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

