Thursday Talks: Why Did I Stop Hoarding Books?

Why Did I Stop Hoarding Books.png

Do you hoard books? What does it make you feel? It’s satisfying and addicting right? But, have you ever thought of its negative effect on us? Do you think it only brings pleasure on us?

Well, I do hoard books before when I’m still not aware of what it might do to me. Right now, this is what I hate the most for being a book lover because even if I gained pleasure on buying those books that I’ve found in physical and online bookstore, I know that I am also guilty for “overspending”. I know it is not wrong to spend money on books but if you always just buy books because you find their covers pretty and/or you just want to add them on you growing collection but in the end, you won’t read them anyway then you better think twice.

When I started my freshman year on college, I’ve met several people who liked reading and hoarding books. Since I am always with most of them, they had influenced me on buying books too – which I never did before because I am the borrower-in-the-library-type of reader. So, I started saving most of my allowance just for books and every week, I think I’ve been adding more than 3 books on my bookshelves.

At first, I thought it was cool and nice because my collections were growing but after a year or more, I’ve reflected on what I’ve been doing. I’ve noticed that I’m literally just spending my money unreasonably. Why? It is Because I know that I won’t be able to read all of those books that I’ve bought. I’ve been just displaying them on the bookshelves. And much importantly, I haven’t able to save the money spent on books for much important things.

To summarize my thoughts, book hoarding only pleases me because I see those books as my second family and friends when I feel alone or happy but I wasn’t aware that it also secretly makes me spend my money lavishly for things that I don’t really need during those times.

So, if you are planning to hoard books, I suggest that you should only take what you intend to read. Don’t buy them all at once. I know some of you will say that you planned to read them all since the day you’d bought them and I know I’ve said that many times too before but whether I like it or not, I’m sure that in the back of my mind, I won’t be able to read most of them.

How about you? Do you also hoard books? What’s your thought on doing it?

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She is a also a book blogger and she post her reviews and other bookish post on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Thursday Talks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Thursday Talks: Why Did I Stop Hoarding Books?

  1. I’ve gone through stages–when I was younger and first bringing home a paycheck, I used to buy books and value having them on my shelves. Then I moved a few times and thought about simplifying and wondered–why keep books I’m not going to re-read? There purpose is to be read, not stuck on a shelf! So I gave away a bunch and went back to using the library for fiction. But then I started both book blogging and teaching reading, so I buy tons of books for my classroom, but somehow that has loosened me up to buying more books for myself as well. I really need to stop though–I’m trying to ONLY buy books I can see donating to my classroom library after I read them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s buying with great purpose not just buying because you like it and you’re hoping to read it in the future which doesn’t guarantee that you’ll be able to really read it.

      Like

  2. I used to say that I was great about not hoarding books, but after four years of blogging I now have SO many that it’s impossible not to call it a hoard. Sigh. I still try to get rid of some when I can!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Currently working on a post about this. I was working in a bookstore starting last year and by the time I looked around I realized I hadn’t read and only half read most of the books I purchased. After a while when I got really excited about a book and was tempted to bring it home, I had to stop myself and try reading it more at work before I was tempted to bring it to the register because I was literally just snagging everything I thought I liked.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s how I was exactly before and it took me years to notice what I’m really doing. Now, even if I like a book, I’m just adding it to my TBR list and promised myself to only buy it if I am really sure to read it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – June | Book Huntress' World

  5. Fleur @ Frankly Books says:

    I do hoard books and it’s terrible! The issue that I face is the one of sales. Cheaper prices when you buy more books, makes it seem as though I’m saving money when in reality I’m spending way more on books that I’m probably not going to get to. Although I have started trying to get rid of them, I still attend the sales because I have fun at them! Definitely need to cut down though.

    Fleur @ Fleur Henley

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Krysta says:

    I don’t really have money to buy books so I buy very few. However, even if people have the money, I think it’s worth looking towards the future. It might be fun to see your room overflowing with books if you live with your parents, but then you might move out one day. Packing and transporting all those books that were never read might not be worth it. Paying for all the shipping costs might not be worth it. And having to move them from a house where you had room to a tiny apartment where you don’t have room might be impossible. When moving, less is truly more. I try to donate any books I don’t see myself rereading. That way, I have more space and less clutter, and the books go on to promote literacy elsewhere!

    As a side note, I also find borrowing books from the library encourages me to read them because I only have so much time before they must go back!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I really agree with this post. I used to keep way more books than I needed. Now I only keep the books I have a great “relationship” with and loved reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I don’t buy any books this year except for some Kindle books but I’m buying using the Amazon gc that I’ve won from giveaways so I won’t count it as hoarding. 😀 I’ll read an ebook first before buying a print copy. 🙂

      Like

  8. Pingback: The Unique Blogger Award – Diary of a Bookfiend

  9. Kerri says:

    tbh i should def use the library more, but i have so many purchased unread books that i feel bad adding more to the list. but since im probably moving soon, i plan to downsize a hell of a lot…we’ll see how that goes lol

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Aria says:

    I’m a book hoarder for sure since shopping is my (terrible) way of relieving stress, urk. Though, this year I’ve managed to hold myself back better since I’ve set a spending limit for books. Hopefully, I’ll be able to decrease my book hoarding desires by next year 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jessica's Reading Room says:

    I’m working on getting rid of book- now with getting some paper arcs- I am definitely passing those on in some ways. I just have so many books, it’s time to do something about it! lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m done on giving away most of my books. I did it because I don’t really intend on reading those and half of it, I’ve also got them for free from another booklover. 🙂 Try by donating or giving away the books you don’t really like. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

