Book Review: The Bucket List by Emily Ruben

The Bucket List by Emily Ruben - Banner.png

Synopsis

Leah thought that the turmoil in her life had come to an end. That is, until the boy-next-The Bucket List by Emily Ruben - Cover.jpgdoor who’s just moved in, turns out to be none other than her old childhood best friend, Damon. Rekindling their friendship, the two become inseparable and life seems perfect, until Leah learns a tragic secret; Damon is terminally ill and has only one more year to live.

Leah and Damon decide to embark on an adventure to have the time of their lives and cross out every to-do on their ‘Bucket List’. With the clock ticking and time precious, will they be able to complete every goal before time runs out?

My Review

The Bucket List is a remarkable and an inspiring story.

In this book, Leah and her childhood best friend, Damon, reunited again after five years of being apart from one another. After learning that Damon has only have a year and a half left to live his life, Leah decided to make a bucket list. Together, they try to complete Damon’s bucket list and along way, they have found love on one another.

The plot is not that unfamiliar to me anymore because I’ve read some books with the same idea or almost the same idea like “The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green and “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes. But, of course, this book has its own charm to the readers because the plot is still different from the mentioned books above. I’ve just like how this novel tells us that we should live our life to the fullest and also try our best to reach our goals because life is just short and we won’t know when we’ll die.

The characters are okay to me except when Leah keeps on thinking about Damon – that he’ll die soon and that it is just sad. It is repetitive and it makes me feel a little bit off from reading this story. I’ve only enjoyed the time when they are already doing the things on Damon’s bucket list.

The ending is the best part on this novel. Why? It is packed with a lot of emotions – love, happiness, sadness, etc. The moment when Damon have to say goodbye and when Leah received his letter are my favorites scenes of all and I admit that I cried on those scenes. I just can’t send-off Damon because I’ve witnessed their adventure and their journey that you’ll wish you can do too with your own love one.

Overall, I like the story and I’m recommending it for everyone especially those who wants to go with Leah and Damon on checking off the items on their bucket list.

P.S. The author wrote an alternate ending on Wattpad. It was a happy ending and it was called “What If”.

Disclaimer: I received an advanced review copy from the publisher.

My Rating

Arrow Arrow Arrow

Book Details

Publisher: Inkitt

Publication Date: June 21st 2017

Genre(s):  New Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Pages: 395

Language: English

Add on Goodreads: CLICK HERE

Purchase Here

Amazon

About the Author

My name’s Emily Ruben and I’m a twenty year-old French writer. I’ve been writing ever since I could hold a pen and wrote my first story with my childhood best friend. When she stopped I continued on my own. I filled notebook after notebook before I owned a computer. At which point I started covering hundreds of Word pages with my ideas. I love to write the stories people wouldn’t automatically expect, with twisted plots or unhappily ever afters.

I switched from writing in French to English when I was sixteen and my computer was stolen, taking with it all my stories and ideas. After that, it seemed inspiration came to me more in English so I never went back to writing in French.

As of right now, I’m a student at the Panthéon-Sorbonne University, a music lover, passionate traveler and an avid eater of sweets.

If you’d like to say hi, you can find me here:

Goodreads | Amazon | Facebook | Twitter | Wattpad

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger/reviewer, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She's also a book blogger and she posts her reviews and other bookish posts on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, My Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review: The Bucket List by Emily Ruben

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up – June | Book Huntress' World

  2. Norin says:

    The cover is beautiful and I like the plot (yes, I do a lot of cover-buy), I think i’ll add this to my TBR 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

