Thursday Talks: Book Cover Designs that Bothers Me

TT - Book Cover Designs that Bothers Me.png

Hello! It’s time for me to rant oppps, I mean to talk about books or being a reader.

Recently, I’ve been Kindle/book hunting on Amazon.com and Goodreads to look for books that I want to add on my TBR. The problem is, I am lazy, yes I’m lazy but only when it comes to checking the book description. As you can already imagine, I’m the kind of reader that will mostly buy the book because of its cover not because of its content. Yeah, I’m guilty of it but I know most of you also judge a book by its cover. Then, while browsing on a lot of titles, I am mostly skipping some books even if the ratings are really high because the covers are telling me to don’t pick it up. Why? You’ll know later. And I am also rolling my eyes whenever I pick a book and its design really catches my eyes – the covers are really beautiful – but it only disappoints me because when I’ve read the blurb, and also some reviews on it, I can already picture myself not enjoying it so bye books with pretty covers!

Now, I want to talk about what bothers me when picking a book based on its cover and which always left me having a hard time deciding whether I’ll pick it or not.

  1. COVERS WITH HUMAN FACE/S

Covers with Human Faces

I really hate this! Whenever I read a book, I always try to picture the characters based on how they were described in the story but when its cover have faces on it, it lessens my pleasure on reading that book.

  1. COVERS THAT DON’T MATCH IN A SERIES

Artemis Fowl Series

I like everything to be organized and pretty to look at when it comes to my books especially when it’s a series. So, if a series doesn’t have the same cover designs on each book, it irritates me. It’s ok to change something on it but to overall destroy the design/theme; it’s a big X for me.

  1. ADAPTATION MOVIE COVERS

Covers with movie adaptation poster.jpg

When a book cover have been changed to its movie adaptation poster, all I am sure is that I WON’T BUY IT EVEN IF I LOVE THE BOOK ITSELF! I just really dislike seeing the cover of those actors/actresses on it because just like what I’ve said on #1, I hate human faces on the covers. Unless the poster itself is clean from these faces, then there’s a chance I’ll read it.

  1. SENSUAL COVERS

Sensual Book Covers

Oh my! ONE OF MY BIGGEST PET PEEVES on book covers! I WON’T EVER BUY A BOOK – well, for print books only – if the covers have those shirtless men and women embracing each other or kissing one another or whatsoever they are doing there! These covers already have those human faces and it only adds their (almost) naked body. Well, the body of those men are really a sight to see for me but, if ever I’ll read a book with these covers outside of my house, I’ll only get embarrassed because some people might think I’m reading some erotic or sensual books when I’m not.

  1. COVERS THAT LOOK THE SAME WITH THE OTHER BOOKS

Covers with same design 2

When a specific book became popular and its cover was one of the main reason it clicked on most readers, the other books from different authors will also have the same outline or pattern hoping that the other readers who’ve read that popular book might also want to read it too because well, they’ve liked that popular book’s design so why won’t they like this new books with the same design/theme too?

Covers with same design

Then, there’s also an instances where some books literally look alike because they really have the same design except for title fonts, colors, and some parts of it and I don’t know if it’s intentional or just a mistake by the cover designer for using the same thing for it.

And this thing also never makes me happy because I like seeing unique cover arts and for me, covers are not just a door to the world inside that book but it’s also a representation of that novel. It’s one of the things that will make it standout from the rest of the books out there but now, it was just ruined because of having a cover twin-y.

And those are what bothers me when I choose a book to buy or to read because I really liked seeing books with gorgeous cover arts and of course, it should be related with the story and if those listed reasons above are shown to me, I’ll only hesitate on taking it.

What about you? What book covers do you dislike? Does anything about the covers also distracts you or bugs you when choosing a book?

Signature Love, Alysssa

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She is a also a book blogger and she post her reviews and other bookish post on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Thursday Talks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Thursday Talks: Book Cover Designs that Bothers Me

  1. Pingback: Movie/TV Show Covers VS. Original Covers – Ann's Reading Corner

  2. I have a whole Goodreads list dedicated to this one guy who I used to see on ALL the covers. It made me crazy! (You can find it HERE if you’re interested.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is so true! I have to say that I LOOVE the current trend of stepping away a bit from just photography of people and get more creative with covers. They have come up with so much awesomeness later, with covers that are beautiful and have more chance to capture what the books are really about. I guess this might be bad news for cover models, at least in the YA industry. NA and Adult books still get away with the people on covers, and I think most of us are used to that, specially the romance books hahahahah (BUT NEVER IN PUBLIC LOL OF COURSE).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Award: The Black Cat Blue Sea – Diary of a Bookfiend

  5. Maygin Reads says:

    Book covers matter so much more than I want them to. I get annoyed when the cover of the book I read does not match the icon on Goodreads. Or when I read a book from the library or a friend and then when I buy it (or most likely given it), the book cover is different. It bothers me much much more than it should. I am way too picky about book covers for print books, but I don’t want to be. Way to own it and know what you like!

    Like

  6. Naty says:

    So true, I agree with all the points you made! I will go out of my way to buy a book from somewhere else if they only sell with humans or movie covers… ughh

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m not one to buy a book based on the cover… and it’s for most of the reasons you posted here. Especially faces on the cover!

    The great majority of books do have character depictions on their covers, but I prefer for the writer’s words to make the character ‘appear’ in my mind.

    I also don’t care for audiobooks because I don’t want ‘that voice’ in my head.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad to hear that you’re not one who buys a book because of its cover. 🙂

      I agree that most of the books right now do have it that’s why I’m trying my best to read the blurb of the book too before buying it.

      I tried listening to a free audiobook I’ve got from an author but unfortunately, it’s not for me. I prefer to read than to listen.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I can’t stand movie covers on books either! I won’t buy them, its got to be the original or nothing.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Martie says:

    I think I the only one that is not influenced by the covers one way or another. Guess I’m on on own on this one, 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I haaaate movie adaptation covers. I WILL NOT buy a book if it’s an adaptation cover. Ugh. I rather hunt for the original. I don’t like Mass Market copies either. Messes up my bookshelf

    Like

  11. Elena Hawthorne says:

    Oh my goodness, I agree with you so much when it comes to sensual covers! Not only are they just awkward to look at, but it’s something I’m not comfortable with owning! I don’t want someone to come to my house and see a physical copy and an eBook with a naked man on the cover. Hell, I’d be judging myself for that! And I absolutely HATE it when I see a book cover and like it only to find elsewhere that the same thing exists, but in gradients of, let’s say, purple. I find that just cruelty – y’all were too lazy to come up with your own cover design? That’s just an insult – I hope you don’t mind that I’m too lazy to read a book that can’t even have a unique cover.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it’s really awkward when they see you owning those books with sensual covers and even if you try to explain, I know some people especially those who don’t really read will think that you have a thing for it.

      I didn’t notice those books that looks the same before but luckily, I’ve seen a list on Goodreads about it and it has become one of my pet peeves since then.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

