Thursday Talks: Genres that I Really Like

TT - Genres that I Really Like.png

Every bookworm has their own preferred genre when reading. In my case, I don’t care about the author as long as their works have something I want in a story. Sometimes, I don’t stick with my favorite genres and I try to broaden my choices. I also read the books that my friends, fellow bookworms, and just anyone recommend to me. The majority of the time, I am looking for the same or similar books to what I’ve been reading for a long time.

Today, I just want to share my reasons as to why the following genres are my favorites.

1. PARANORMAL

Paranormal is one of my most read genre. Well, to narrow it down, it’s really paranormal romance that I really like. As you can see, I’m interested in vampires, werewolves, ghosts, and much more that Science can’t explain.

My interest in this genre started when I was in high school. One of the books that I had borrowed from our library back then was a paranormal and even if I don’t remember the title of that book, I still know that it was about witches, vampires, and shapeshifters. Since then, I always look for titles that have the same genre, well, more on stories with witches and vampires.

2. FANTASY

Fantasy is my second most read genre. I came to like this when I am on my second year in high school. One of my seatmates was reading Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan and almost every one of my classmates was also reading it. I became curious on what it was all about so I borrowed the first book from my seatmate. I’m still not aware of any mythology stories before but I know what it was, it just that I’m not interested in it yet. After reading PJO series, I started widening my preferences by also reading books on this genre.

3. MYSTERY/SUSPENSE/THRILLER

These three genres sometimes overlapped with one another and that’s why I decided to put them as one. I’ve just recently liked reading books with these genres and I could say that I liked how I feel when I’m reading books that fall into it. They gave me excitement and makes me anticipate how the story will continue and how it will also end. If paranormal and fantasy help me on escaping my problems, these genres help me on thinking logically and sometimes, also help me find a way to solve some of my problems.

So far, these genres are my favorites! How about you? What is the genre(s) that you always read when choosing a book?

Signature Love, Alysssa

About Book Huntress

Alyssa Janine is a Filipino book blogger/reviewer, dancer, and math tutor. She enjoys dancing as much as she loves to read books. Being a math tutor let her share her knowledge in Math to people who can’t fully understand it. She's also a book blogger and she posts her reviews and other bookish posts on her blog named Book Huntress' World.
This entry was posted in Thursday Talks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Thursday Talks: Genres that I Really Like

  1. This is such an interesting idea for discussion! I’m going to to do it and tag you so you could comment 💯
    Also, if you’ve started liking mysteries, do read Sidney Sheldon novels. They’re full of intrigue, suspense, crime and glamour and will keep you on the edge throughout! John Grisham is also good but his books get really monotonous!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maygin Reads says:

    Fantasy is such a great genre!! I came across some books about dragons in middle school and was sucked in. Surprisingly, Stephen King’s Eye of the Dragon is still a favorite and likely the book that started my fantasy interest!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! I think that fantasy is one of the genres that turned non-readers into becoming one. *laughs* I haven’t read that book yet or any books written by Stephen King. I hope I would find time to start reading one of his novels.

      Like

      • Maygin Reads says:

        I think you are right! I read a lot of his books when I was in middle school, but I don’t anymore. They didn’t follow my maturing tastes. I think it’s okay if he’s an author you never get to. Though if you do, his books tend to be a fast read!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Fantasy and paranormal are both favorites of mine as well. After that, it’s YA contemp.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sabriel says:

    I like science fiction, fantasy and historical fiction before all others. I don’t mind a touch of romance within those genres but I wouldn’t deliberately go and buy a romance or ‘chick lit’ book.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. carhicks says:

    I pretty much read anything but I am not a big Sci-Fi or vampire/werewolf person. Otherwise, bring it on.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Noriko says:

    Hi! I love thrillers (psychological/crime) and YA contemporary plus sometimes adult contemporary. Basically I love heart-shattering, poignant books that will wreck my heart. I don’t know why but I just love such books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like psychological thrillers! 😊 I also read YA Contemporary though not as always as these 3 genres. We are opposite! Though I don’t like heart-wrenching novels that much, as long as the author successfully written it and the story really makes my heart breaks into million pieces, I’m okay with it. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

